10 new schools for south-east Queensland

Queensland’s south-east will gain 10 new schools, while nine face the axe.

Minister for Education John-Paul Langbroek told parliament today the government would build 10 schools in “growth hot spots” including growth belts south of Ipswich and in Brisbane’s outer north.

The schools will be built in a public-private partnership, with companies invited to bid for the contracts.

There will be two secondary schools and eight primary schools.

Mr Langbroek said the schools would enrol more than 10,000 students and create 540 jobs for teachers and 130 non-teaching roles.

Jobs would be created in other industries as well.

“This project will also boost the construction industry, providing 1,700 jobs a year for the five year construction period,” he said.

This announcement comes as nine schools are being considered for closure across the state.

Mr Langbroek rejected Opposition interjections about the closures, calling those schools “unsustainable.”

Suburbs to gain schools are Burpengary, Bellbird Park, Pimpama, Pallara, Ripley Valley, Springfield, Griffin, Redbank Plains and Caboolture (to get two schools).

Schools already slated for closure under a government review process are Charlton State School,
Everton Park State High School, Fortitude Valley State School, Nyanda State High School, Old Yarranlea State School, Stuart State School, Toowoomba South State School and Wyreema State School, while Coorparoo Secondary College faces being merged with Brisbane State High School.

Leave A Comment

News by Email